Paro valley located at an altitude of 7,200 feet above sea level is the only town in the country that has an international airport. It has a population of approximately 20,000 inhabitants.  A historic town with many sacred sites and historical buildings scattered within the valley, is considered one of the most beautiful valley in the country.  The District is also one of the most popular tourist destination.

Attraction in Paro

Paro Dzong: The Dzong is referred to as Rinpung Dzong (a shortened version of Rinchen Pung, literally translated as ‘heap of precious jewels’) by the Bhutanese. It was built in 1646 by Zhabdrung Ngawang Namgyal who united Bhutan. One of the oldest wooden cantilever bridge that was used to visit the Dzong still continues to be the passage to reach the dzong even today.  

Ta Dzong (watch tower): The Ta Dzong built in the 17th Century lies on a hill, watching over the Rinpung Dzong.  Since 1967, it has been converted into a National Museum which has a rich collection of cultural and religious heritage of Bhutan.

Kyichu Lhakhang: Together with the Jambey Lhakhang in Bumthang, the Kyichu Lhakhang was built in the 7th century. Legend has it that it is located on the left sole of a demoness whose body extends over the Himalayas and is one of the 108 temples believed to have been built by the Tibetan King Songtsen Gampo in a single day to subdue the demoness.

Ruins of Drugyal Dzong (Drukgyel means Victory): The Dzong was built in 1647 to celebrate the Bhutanese victory over a Tibetan invasion.  Later, it also served as the seat of power for the Lord of the Drugyel region. Ever since the unfortunate fire in 1951 that razed this dzong, it remains in ruins today.   However, the reconstruction of the Dzong is underway to bring it back to its original shape in the next few years.
Taktshang Monastery (Tiger’s Nest): This monastery is located atop a 900 meter cliff. It is believed that in the 8th Century, Guru Padmasambhava flew here from Kurtoe (eastern Bhutan) on a tigress. Several centuries later, it was the 4th Desi, Gyaltse Tenzin Rabgye, who constructed a monastery in 1692. Parts of the monastery was burnt down in 1952 and reconstructed. In 1998, another fire burnt a large part of the monastery. A huge reconstruction project was initiated and completed two years later.  Today, people from all walks of life ensures to achieve the dream of reaching this Monastery before they leave this world.  
Paro Town:  The main town of Paro has a wealth of family run shops selling traditional arts and crafts and small restaurants.  The landscape of this valley is extremely beautiful with a mix of town in the middle of paddy fields and orchards.  A perfect place for a nice retreat and be among the farmers who continue to work in their fields with all smiles and happiness.